image_50392065.JPG

Nicola

Hi my name is Nicola and I am a qualified primary school teacher with QTS. I am very excited about being part of the Esteem Team. I really believe in Esteem Team's individualised and tailored approach and the wonderful opportunities that they can give children and young people to succeed and have a positive future. 

I have worked as a teacher across Devon, London and Wales with 16 years of experience teaching children aged between 4 and 12 years old. I have also lectured at Brunel University, London on Autism Awareness and strategies to manage challenging behaviour. I took the lead on their Special Educational Needs programme for their PGCE students and assessed portfolios, listened to presentations and made adaptations to their SEND curriculum. I have a Masters of Education in Autism And Children which I completed whilst working full time as a class teacher in a school for children with autism, challenging behaviours and additional needs in London.

 

I spent 11 years teaching in this particular school and prior to that I taught in a school for children with autism in Cardiff. It was great to have the contrast and experience of these two roles because I have taken away a wealth of knowledge and skills. I believe in a flexible approach to teaching and that every child is unique and has their own way of learning and achieving their individual potential. I have confidence in that children should be taught using their interests and primarily targeting their needs and to do this you need flexibility which is something that the Esteem Team can offer.

I live in Exmouth with my husband and two children aged 1 and 5 years old. We moved from London in August 2020 and it’s been the best move for us as a family. We love living by the coast and spending time at the beach. We also enjoy visiting local parks and walking on Woodbury Common. Another favourite trip for us is to Darts or Greendale farm. 

I have a passion for baking and cooking so I spend much of my free time studying and researching recipes and cooking for my family. My daughter and I often bake cakes and make smoothies, pancakes with various toppings and waffles. I also enjoy keeping fit and taking part in a range of fitness activities like yoga, swimming, Zumba and walking.